How I got started in Open Source thanks to Treblle

How I got started in Open Source thanks to Treblle

My name is Emmanuel, and I write about technology and entrepreneurship.

At the beginning of this year, I resolved to start making money. My first step was to interact with people possessing the skills I needed to learn from them, aiming to become desirable and be hired for a role. Kelvin Omereshone and JustSteveKing, both developer advocates at Treblle, were among the individuals I connected with.

Treblle, a lightweight SDK, empowers Engineering and Product teams to accelerate the development, deployment, and maintenance of REST-based APIs.

With Treblle, you can witness API requests in real-time, eliminating the need to spend hours gathering fragmented data from different sources. Say goodbye to the hassle of collecting user feedback through multiple channels and deciphering critical details and incident reports. Treblle consolidates a comprehensive set of rich data points for each API request, providing a centralized and efficient solution.

[Get Started Today](treblle.com)

Despite studying Computer Science, I spent the last six months engaged in an unpaid internship at a local microfinance bank, focusing on grinding through programming and learning how to develop quality software.

I initiated my journey by constructing final year projects for my peers, gathering feedback on my technical skills and identifying areas for improvement.

Skipping ahead to April 2023, I participated in Treblle's 1st API Security Hackathon. I read through the hackathon conditions, gave it my best shot, and secured a spot in the top 10, a significant achievement for me.

Fast forward to October 2023, Treblle announced their second hackathon for the Hacktoberfest event. The challenge involved building Software Development Kits (SDKs) for their APIs. I enthusiastically registered, put in considerable effort, and was fortunate enough to clinch the first-place position.

Now armed with valuable experience, I plan to continue maintaining the SDK to further enhance my skills with GitHub, CI/CD, and more.